Analyzing PR in the Dance Community

Posted on April 11, 2011

4



Hello! My name is Jordon Goulder. I’m a junior at the University of Oregon studying journalism with an emphasis in public relations. I am also a dance minor at the University, and I have been dancing for practically my entire life.

During my experience as a public relations intern at Ballet Fantastique in Eugene, Oregon I learned about all of the work that goes into production, advertising, and fundraising to keep dance alive in the community. When my internship was over I realized that I want to and desperately need to stay involved with public relations and event planning in the world of dance.

I realize how difficult it is to get some artists to call attention to the work that they create. They have a hard time saying, “Hey! Look at me! Check out my skills!” and because of this, there doesn’t seem to be a whole lot of dance companies tapping into the world of social media and PR. It is my hope that with this blog I will inspire dance companies to reach out and allow dance to become more easily accessible to the world of “non-dancers”.

In my search to learn more about the field that I am pursuing, I had a difficult time finding information about the ways in which companies and theaters are reaching out to the community surrounding them. I found several company blogs that hadn’t been updated in more than a year, several twitter accounts that hadn’t been updated in months, and a lack of easily accessible video footage on the internet. Personally, I believe that dance cannot be fully understood until it is seen live. However, I think that in this day and age many people are gleaning information about anything and everything they can through the online world.  While there are some companies that have really tapped into this idea, others are being left behind and are likely losing potential audience members due to a lack of an online presence.

University of Oregon grad students Erinn Thompson-Ernst and David Horton

Photo by Nicci Schaefer

It is my hope that one day the dance community will expand beyond the world of the people who dance. I hope that figures such as Alvin Ailey and Isadora Duncan become more widely known and that dance communities in cities across the nation will become all-inclusive.

I am so excited to begin “Social Rhythms”. I will leave you now with this quote by Agnes de Mille. I hope it reminds you just how important it is to keep dance funded and active throughout the world. Where would we be without dance?

“The truest expression of a people is in its dance and in its music.  Bodies never lie.”  ~Agnes de Mille

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Posted in: Public Relations