National Dance Week Day 10, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker “Rosas danst Rosas”

Posted on May 1, 2011

1



For the final day of this 10 day long National Dance Week I’m posting this dance for camera called “Rosas danst Rosas.”  The choreography is more than 25 years old and is performed in this video by choreographer Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker alongside dancers Cynthia Loemij, Sarah Ludi, and Samantha Van Wissen. The piece has won a Bessie Award and has been danced by several companies over the years. In this video, the choreography comes alive through the bodies of three young dancers as well as the brain behind the magic.

I hope everyone celebrated National Dance Week in one way or another. I know I had an amazing week plus 3 days. For me, the climax was definitely improvisation class with Kathleen Hermesdorf and Albert Mathis that I took through the free week of dance classes offered at the University of Oregon. How did you celebrate this awesome holiday?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

